Wednesday, October 21, 2026

TV Antenna vs YouTube TV: What $83 Buys You

Published
Author
Comments
0

Every month the same charge lands for a household that mostly watches local news, Sunday football and whatever Netflix suggests next. Two ways to get those local channels compete for that money: an antenna stuck to a window, or YouTube TV streaming them. Framed as TV antenna vs YouTube TV, it sounds like a gadget question. It is really about what the bill buys that the air hands out free.

TV antenna vs YouTube TV: house antenna beside towers showing $82.99, $996, $4,979 costs

Key Takeaways

Buy an antenna for local channels plus on-demand apps; pay for YouTube TV only if live cable networks are a weekly habit.

  • A year of YouTube TV costs about $996, while an antenna's locals cost nothing after purchase.
  • Sling's cheaper plans mostly skip ABC and CBS, so they need an antenna too.
  • Nielsen's June 2026 count put free broadcast TV ahead of all cable in US viewing time.
  • Check the FCC's DTV Reception Maps first: reception, not price, is the antenna's real risk.

Is an antenna better than YouTube TV?

An antenna brings in ABC, CBS, NBC and Fox with no monthly bill, while YouTube TV charges full price for those same networks plus cable, so it is better whenever cable is not something you watch.

Clark Howard's live TV price guide, updated in January 2026, lists YouTube TV at $82.99 a month with the major local networks included, so an antenna only has to cost less than one month of service to pay for itself. Switching bundles does not help: the same guide puts Hulu + Live TV at $89.99 and DirecTV's Choice package at $94.99, more money for the same locals. Sling's Orange or Blue plan is $46, but it largely skips ABC and CBS, so it still needs an antenna.

Most cord-cutting guides still treat YouTube TV as the safe default, and I think that advice is out of date, or at least out of date for anyone whose week is mostly local channels. It is the most polished way to rent channels already in the air above your house. Drop it, and the TV's home screen becomes your front door, so check which home screen shows fewer ads, Roku or Google TV, and why a new smart TV sells ads before you watch anything.

Worked from those January 2026 prices, these four numbers carry the decision, because each is a cost or a wait a household actually feels.

Dearest Bundle, One Year

$1,140

Derived; paying for free channels

Antenna Payback Time

Under 30 days

Derived; if it costs under one bill

Local Networks YouTube TV Resells

4 networks

All free over the air nearby

Sling Single Plan vs YouTube TV

45% cheaper

Derived; still needs an antenna

The payback card is the one to remember. It holds for any antenna you pick: a one-time purchase smaller than a single month of streaming is repaid before the next charge, and every later month stays in your budget.

"

The dearest bundle charges over a thousand dollars a year for networks that arrive through the air for nothing.

Now the sum worth doing with your own bill: divide your monthly live TV charge by four. If ABC, CBS, NBC and Fox are what you actually watch, that is your per-network price, the number to hold against any antenna on a shelf.

TV antenna vs YouTube TV: the five-year math

Over five years, the gap between a one-time antenna purchase and a monthly YouTube TV bill grows into thousands of dollars, so the deciding question shifts from what each costs to what you actually watch.

The five-year figure is my own arithmetic: sixty bills at today's price, no further increase, which flatters YouTube TV.

You weigh Antenna vs YouTube TV What it means for you
๐Ÿงพ Monthly bill Antenna $0 after setup
YouTube TV 12 bills a year
✅ Ends the recurring charge
๐Ÿ’ฐ Five-year cost Antenna One purchase
YouTube TV $4,979 at current price
✅ Keeps thousands yours
๐Ÿ’ฐ Price rises Antenna Fixed once bought
YouTube TV Raised 2024 and 2025
❌ Expect the bill to climb
๐Ÿ“Š Channels Antenna Locals in range
YouTube TV Locals plus cable
⚠️ Extra spend buys cable
๐Ÿ Best suited for Antenna Locals plus apps
YouTube TV Weekly cable viewing
๐Ÿ Match last week's viewing

The channel row decides it. Did anyone here watch a cable network live last week? If not, the extra money buys nothing you use.

Nielsen's The Gauge for June 2026, as MediaPost reported it, credits YouTube alone with 13.5% of US TV time and Netflix with 7.9%, so on-demand apps carry streaming and an antenna plus one or two apps matches how people actually watch. A year earlier cable held 23.4% and broadcast 18.5%: cable is the shrinking slice that YouTube TV's extra money buys.

US TV time June 2026 Streaming 48.5% Broadcast 19.8% Cable 19.5% Everything else 12.2%

Free broadcast TV now draws slightly more US viewing than all cable combined, so dropping a live bundle mostly gives up cable, not the main event. Source: MediaPost on Nielsen's The Gauge, June 2026, the last edition before a method change.

Where does an antenna fall short?

An antenna falls short wherever the signal does: homes far from broadcast towers or tucked behind hills may get some networks weakly or not at all, and no saving makes up for a missing channel.

So check first. The FCC's DTV Reception Maps page takes your address and lists the stations you should receive, colour-coded by signal strength. That check turns the antenna plan from a guess into a yes or no.

Streaming fails differently. WRDW's November 2025 streaming guide notes that carriage disputes cause temporary blackouts on YouTube TV and Hulu, so you can pay in full and still lose a local network mid-season. A bundle is also only as steady as your Wi-Fi, so check whether a Wi-Fi 7 router or mesh fixes dead zones before blaming the service.

One open question, and this is opinion. The same MediaPost report says Nielsen is recalibrating The Gauge from the 2026-27 season using ARF DASH universe estimates (an industry count of how homes watch), and analysts expect streaming to look less dominant. Broadcast's lead over cable is thin; I would not bet a subscription on it. An antenna does not hide your viewing either, so learn how smart TVs track what you watch and the setting that stops it.

  • Indoor antennas are fussy about placement, so try more than one window before returning one.
  • Games on ESPN or a regional sports channel never reach an antenna.

Cancel the live bundle if all four are true

  • The FCC map shows your local stations as strong or moderate.
  • Nobody watched a cable-only channel live last week.
  • Your must-watch sport airs on ABC, CBS, NBC or Fox.
  • Your TV's input menu lists an Antenna or Air source.

So the antenna wins for any home whose week is local channels plus an app or two, and YouTube TV wins only where live cable is a weekly habit. This week, run your address through the FCC's map, buy an antenna from a store with easy returns and test it before your next billing date. If the locals come in clean, cancel.

Turn Off ACR: Samsung vs LG, One Is Easier

Published
Author
Comments
0

Samsung or LG: if you want to turn off ACR, the set that keeps it behind a single switch is the Samsung, and that is the answer this piece defends. ACR, automatic content recognition, is the feature that identifies what is on your screen and reports it back. Both brands ship it. Both were sued over it in Texas. But on a Samsung you hunt for one setting, while LG spreads the same job across two different menus with two different names.

Turn off ACR guide: Samsung needs one menu, LG needs two, with Texas timeline

Key Takeaways

Samsung is the easier opt-out: one setting, Viewing Information Services, stops its ACR, while LG spreads the same job across two menus.

  • On an LG, switch off Live Plus and decline the Viewing Information agreement under User Agreements; the two sit in different places.
  • Texas's lawsuits allege ACR also reads what plays through HDMI, so a console or cable box does not shield you.
  • Both makers' 2026 Texas agreements require consent from Texans; as announced, neither covers buyers in other states.

Is my smart TV taking screenshots of what I watch?

Yes, if ACR is switched on, according to the Texas Attorney General, whose December 15, 2025 release says the software can capture screenshots of a user's television display every 500 milliseconds. That is two frames a second. Do the sum: multiply the hourly figure in the grid below by the hours your TV is on tonight. A three-hour evening comes to 21,600 possible captures.

The old advice to use the TV as a dumb screen for a console is out of date. CyberInsider's December 19, 2025 summary of the complaints says the makers also collected data from HDMI-connected devices, game consoles and cable boxes among them. Never opening the built-in apps protects nothing. Our explainer on how smart TVs track what you watch with ACR covers the matching, and that profile feeds the advertising in your new smart TV sells ads before you watch anything.

Four numbers frame the legal side, and none lets either brand off the hook. The Attorney General's December release named Sony, Samsung, LG, Hisense and TCL. CyberInsider reported that the state seeks civil penalties in each case under the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act. Hoodline reported on January 7, 2026 that a Collin County order barring Samsung from using Texans' ACR data was vacated almost at once. The hourly count is our own arithmetic, not a filing's.

TV Makers Texas Sued

5

Samsung and LG both named

Penalty Sought per Case

$1M+

At stake for every brand

Life of Samsung's Court Order

1 day

No ruling shields your TV

Snapshots per Hour, Alleged

7,200

Derived; multiply by your nightly hours

The court order is the part people misremember. It was set aside, and a fresh application was denied on January 9. What changed Samsung's practice was an agreement, announced on February 26, 2026, requiring Texas consumers' express consent before any ACR collection.

"

A court order that lasted a day is not a privacy setting. The switch in your own menu is the only protection that stays on.

How do I turn off ACR on a Samsung or LG TV?

On a Samsung, open Settings, then Support, Terms & Privacy and Privacy Choices, and switch off Viewing Information Services; on an LG, switch off Live Plus and decline the viewing agreement under User Agreements. The paths come from Malwarebytes' March 2, 2026 guide and Tom's Guide's January 30, 2026 walkthrough, which warn that names shift by model year. Samsung's own support page says only that ACR can be switched off in Settings at any time.

LG's second stop is official. Its support library, in a page dated September 2026, sends owners to Settings, Privacy & Terms, User Agreements, where optional agreements cover what you watch, voice features and personalised ads. Live Plus sits elsewhere, under Additional Settings. So that is two switches. Well, one switch and one agreement, which look nothing alike. LG's updated terms took effect on August 28, 2026; if your set asked you to accept something since, that screen was the consent.

Read the table by row; each answers a question you would ask with the remote in hand.

What differs Samsung vs LG What it means for you
๐Ÿ’ฐ Effort Samsung 1 switch, 1 menu
LG 2 switches, 2 menus
✅ Half the hunt
๐Ÿ”’ Setting name Samsung Viewing Information Services
LG Live Plus, Viewing Information
⚠️ Search both names
⚖️ Texas deal Samsung Feb 26, 2026
LG May 11, 2026
✅ Texans get consent screens
๐Ÿงพ New terms Samsung After updates
LG Since Aug 28, 2026
⚠️ Reread new prompts
๐ŸŒ Outside Texas Samsung Not stated
LG Not stated
❌ Opt out yourself
๐Ÿ Best suited for Samsung One stop
LG Two-menu patience
๐Ÿ Patience decides

If you read one row, read the fifth: a buyer in Ohio or California should assume nothing changed. Whether the Texas consent screens quietly spread nationwide is the open question. Our guess is that a maker would rather ship one firmware than fifty, but a guess is not a setting.

Dec 15, 2025 Feb 26, 2026 May 11, 2026 Aug 28, 2026 73 days 74 days 109 days Texas files ACR suits Samsung agreement LG agreement LG's new terms live

Both brands now owe Texans a consent screen, yet neither agreement, as announced, says it reaches a TV anywhere else, so outside Texas the switch is still yours to flip. Dates come from the Texas Attorney General's releases and LG's support page; the day counts between them are our own arithmetic.

Where both opt-outs still fall short

Both opt-outs still depend on you finding a setting whose name and location change between model years, and neither Texas agreement, as announced, protects a buyer in another state. The settlements make LG's split menu harder to excuse. The Attorney General's May 11, 2026 release says LG must give users a clear and simple way to opt out. Two menus under two names is not simple.

Samsung is not spotless either: older menus differ from recent sets. And ACR is only one way a TV profiles you; the home screen is itself an ad slot, which is why we compared which home screen shows you fewer ads, Roku or Google TV.

  • Switching ACR off does not remove home-screen ads; it changes what they can be based on.
  • LG's support page says its terms-update notice cannot be disabled and stops only once you respond, so answer it deliberately.
  • Clicking agree at setup is the consent the makers rely on, and you can withdraw it in Settings whenever you like.

Check these against your own set

  • You can find Live Plus anywhere in Settings: do both LG stops, not one.
  • Anything plugs into an HDMI port: switch ACR off even if you never open an app.
  • Your address is outside Texas: no announced agreement changes your defaults.
  • You accepted new terms since late August: reopen User Agreements and read what you ticked.

Samsung is the easier opt-out: one setting, one menu, done. LG can be just as quiet, but only if you make both stops every time it asks you to agree to something new. This week, before your next evening of television, open Settings and switch the viewing-data setting off.

Wednesday, October 14, 2026

Wi-Fi 7 Router vs Mesh: One Box or Three?

Published
Author
Comments
0

The video call freezes in the back bedroom again, and the store offers two fixes. One is a single flagship Wi-Fi 7 router. The other is a mesh kit: two or three smaller units that pass the signal from room to room. The Wi-Fi 7 router vs mesh choice looks like a speed question. It isn't. It's a walls question, and in most two-floor homes the mesh wins.

Wi-Fi 7 router vs mesh infographic: two-storey house cutaway, mesh prices and speed stats

Key Takeaways

In a home with two floors, or a room two walls from the router, a dual-band Wi-Fi 7 mesh beats one flagship router.

  • A faster router only shows its speed on plans above about 500 Mbps; mesh fixes coverage on any plan.
  • Each extra eero 7 node costs less than the first one did.
  • A single router still wins in a small flat where every room is one wall away.
  • Pay for 6 GHz mesh only with multi-gig fiber and Wi-Fi 7 phones or laptops.

Wi-Fi 7 router vs mesh: walls matter more than speed

A single Wi-Fi 7 router is fastest in the room it sits in, while a mesh spreads usable speed across every room, so the number of walls between you and the box matters more than its rated speed.

Start with what Wi-Fi 7 delivers. Ookla's US Speedtest data, reported by PCMag in June 2025, puts Wi-Fi 7 median downloads at 600 to 800 Mbps, roughly double Wi-Fi 6. That gain needs a plan to feed it: on 300 Mbps, the router was never the bottleneck. The provider matters more. Frontier Fiber customers on Wi-Fi 7 posted a 1,010 Mbps median and Verizon's 532 Mbps, so check the speed on your bill first.

PCMag's lab clocked Wi-Fi 7 routers near 2 Gbps, depending on how close you sit. That's a same-room number, and the room you're buying for is the far one, behind a stairwell, where a single box fades fast. Home 6 GHz gear also runs at low power while a higher-power mode waits on regulators, so that band stays short-range. Our comparison of Starlink plans against fibre and AirFiber shows how plan speed caps everything downstream, and the high-refresh TVs built for sports watching need that signal in the den.

Four numbers frame the purchase: TechRadar's March 2025 eero 7 pricing, the same PCMag report's Wi-Fi 5 comparison, Ookla's EE latency study (ISPreview, February 2025) and the WBA and ABI Research shipment count (FutureFive, January 2026). They cover cost, gain, feel and timing.

Mesh Three-Pack Price

$349.99

Three rooms covered, not one

Wi-Fi 7 vs Wi-Fi 5 Speed

4x

Biggest jump from old kit

Wi-Fi 7 Latency (EE, UK)

17 ms

Snappier calls and games

Wi-Fi 7 Access Points, 2025

66.5M

Mainstream now, not early-adopter

The shipment count changes the advice. The same outlook forecasts 117.9 million Wi-Fi 7 access points for 2026, nearly doubling again. A discounted Wi-Fi 6E mesh is still fair, since Ookla found 6E medians not far behind, but it's a bet on the generation the market is leaving. My view, and it is only a view: the saving has to be large.

"

Three mesh nodes cost about twice one router, not three times. In a house with walls, that ratio is the whole argument.

The question narrows. Not which box is faster, but which puts usable signal where you sit.

Is a mesh system better than a single router for dead zones?

Yes for most homes: a mesh system beats a single router for dead zones whenever the problem room sits two or more walls or a floor away, because each node relays a strong signal instead of shouting through plaster.

The evidence is unglamorous. In TechRadar's test, the dual-band eero 7 held about 150 Mbps in a room that had been a dead spot for the old router, matching its speed beside the main unit, with no 6 GHz radio at all. Coverage, not peak speed, fixed the back room.

Dimension Router vs Mesh What it means for you
๐Ÿ’ฐ Entry price Router eero 7, $169.99
Mesh eero 7 2-pack, $279.99
✅ The second node costs less than the first
๐Ÿ’ฐ Per-node cost Router one node at full price
Mesh 3-pack, about $117 each
✅ Every extra room gets cheaper to reach
๐ŸŒ Coverage Router about 2,000 sq ft
Mesh about 6,000 sq ft, 3-pack
✅ Reaches a second floor or a garage
⏱ Far-room speed Router fades past one or two walls
Mesh same as beside the router
✅ Fixes the room you actually use
๐Ÿ”‹ 6 GHz band Router standard on flagships
Mesh absent on eero 7
⚠️ Matters only to Wi-Fi 7 devices
⏱ Plan threshold Router pays off above 500 Mbps
Mesh coverage gain on any plan
⚠️ Check your bill before buying
๐Ÿ Best suited for Router small flat, one wall away
Mesh two floors or thick walls
๐Ÿ Count the walls, not the megabits

Mesh wins on price too. By our arithmetic from eero's list prices, the second node adds $110 and the third only $70, so three rooms cost about twice one. A single router still leaves the far room on one weak signal (the stairwell is usually the culprit).

Routers in US homes by Wi-Fi generation. Wi-Fi 6 · 44.2%. Wi-Fi 5 · 33%. Other or older · 21%. Wi-Fi 7 · 1.8%.

Nearly every buyer is upgrading from Wi-Fi 5 or Wi-Fi 6, so even a Wi-Fi 7 mesh without 6 GHz is a real step up. Shares are Ookla Speedtest US router data via PCMag, June 2025; the other slice is our derived remainder.

Do you need 6 GHz in a Wi-Fi 7 mesh system?

Only if your plan runs past a gigabit and your phones and laptops support Wi-Fi 7; otherwise a dual-band mesh without 6 GHz delivers the coverage you need for a fraction of the price.

The step up is steep. TechRadar lists the tri-band eero Pro 7 three-pack at $699.99 and the Max 7 three-pack at $1,699.99, two to five times the dual-band kit. That buys 6 GHz lanes, which earn their price only when multi-gig fiber feeds Wi-Fi 7 laptops and phones. Otherwise it's a motorway with no cars.

Is Wi-Fi 7 worth it if your devices don't support it? Partly. Older gadgets join at their own speed but still gain from a strong node in their room, so mesh improves the gear you already own. The smart TV gets a stronger signal too, a good moment to switch off the ACR tracking that reports what you watch.

  • Speed studies flatter the router: ISPs pair their best kit with their fastest plans, as Ookla's EE analysis admits.
  • Place nodes halfway to the dead room, not inside it.
  • Got Ethernet between rooms? Wire the nodes together to free their radios.

Before you buy, check which of these is true for you

  • The problem room is two walls or a floor from the router.
  • A test beside your router already matches your plan speed.
  • Your phone or laptop lists 802.11be (Wi-Fi 7).
  • Your plan is multi-gig fiber.

So, one box or three? In a small flat where every room is one wall from the socket, buy the router. Everywhere else, buy the dual-band Wi-Fi 7 mesh; a flagship router is the expensive way to keep a dead zone. This week, run a speed test beside your router and one in your worst room: if the second is under half the first, order the mesh.